This Magazine Blog, produced in Melbourne, Australia, contains topical articles created by the author, or researched on-line, on topics of interest to him, with a focus on Australia. These interests include photography, hiking, high-frequency radio communications, computer technology, astrophysics, astronomy, local history of Melbourne's east, gardening, travel, Australian Football League, and the A-League.
Followers
Sunday, August 16, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
The Doncaster Coolstores - History - 1902 to 1972
Author's Note:
This paper was composed using the recently released Beta version of the redesigned Blogger interface. Display options may be varied from the user's browser. |

| Opening of First Govt Cool Store in Doncaster, March 16, 1905 (NLA) |
Introduction
This article looks at the planning, history, construction, operations and closure of the principal Cool Stores which existed in the Doncaster, Box Hill and Templestowe areas in the years 1902 to 1972. It is essentially a compilation of images and supporting text.
Author
Bob Padula OAM, MIEAust, CPEng, ARMIT (communications) published August 2020
CONTENTS1. EARLY HISTORY
2. COOL STORE ERA
3. GOVERNMENT COOL STORE
3.1 CONSTRUCTION
3.2 EQUIPMENT
3.3 DISASTERS
3.4 REBUILT
3.5 CLOSURE
4 DONCASTER COOL STORE
4 DONCASTER COOL STORE
7. TEMPLESTOWE ORCHARDISTS COOL STORE
8. LAWFORD'S COOL STORE AND ORCHARD

| Land sale poster of Jan 14 1888 for the Doncaster Heights Estate; the West Doncaster Cool Store was later built on the NE cnr of Main Doncaster Rd and Beaconsfield St, (SLV) |
Early History
In 1841 Frederic Unwin, a Sydney solicitor, bought 5,120 acres (20.7 km2) of land, including most of the present suburb of Doncaster, from the Crown for one pound an acre under the terms of the short-lived Special Survey regulations. The area was sometimes known as Unwin's Special Survey.
The Doncaster region was settled in the 1860s and 1870s, predominantly by German settler orchardists. The German community was named Waldau, but the name Doncaster gradually became commonly accepted. A Lutheran church was the first one in Doncaster in 1858. A Lutheran school opened in 1860 and a denominational school in 1861. Doncaster Post Office opened on 17 May 186
Cool Store Era
In 1841 Frederic Unwin, a Sydney solicitor, bought 5,120 acres (20.7 km2) of land, including most of the present suburb of Doncaster, from the Crown for one pound an acre under the terms of the short-lived Special Survey regulations. The area was sometimes known as Unwin's Special Survey.
The Doncaster region was settled in the 1860s and 1870s, predominantly by German settler orchardists. The German community was named Waldau, but the name Doncaster gradually became commonly accepted. A Lutheran church was the first one in Doncaster in 1858. A Lutheran school opened in 1860 and a denominational school in 1861. Doncaster Post Office opened on 17 May 1860.
Government Cool Store
The first large cool store was the Government Cool Store, in Main (Doncaster) Rd, Built in 1905, it was not run efficiently and was later taken over in 1913 by a private co-operative of Doncaster orchardists. It was located in an orchard.opposite the extant Athenaeum Hall.
Construction
This was carried out in four stages.
The engine room and six chambers at the front of the East store were erected. During succeeding years, six more chambers completed this building then stage 3 consisted of six chambers at the front of the west building. Finally, ten chambers were added at the rear.
A local builder, Mr May, was selected by the cooperative. May lived in Doncaster Road in the solid Queen Anne house he had built next to the Church of Christ. It was on May's recommendation that the architectural firm of Purchas and Teague designed the building. They introduced some character into the design of the massive structure. This was the age when complicated Gables were a feature of house design. By putting a third gable at the front to join the two ridges on the west building, he avoided what could have become an uninteresting large shed.
Equipment
The refrigeration equipment was supplied by The Firm of RH Werner and Co Pty Ltd. It is interesting now, when natural gas is making gas engines popular for industry, to note that the cool store was equipped with a gas engine. A Ruston-Hornsby suction gas engine drove the compressor. Gas was produced from charcoal and during the height of the season, four Stokers were employed working two a shift. Cool air was circulated through the stores, with timber flaps controlling the flow of air into the chambers.
When completed the store was a show piece. In fact, for many years, it was the largest cool store in the southern hemisphere. Visitors from interstate and overseas came out to inspect the building. Mr. May's reputation was made, and won him contracts to build stores in New South Wales and New Zealand. The first engineer, Rod Sutherland, who had supervised the installation of the equipment, also gained a reputation as an engineer.
William Webb was secretary of the Orchardists' Cool Stores till he resigned in 1924. His son-in-law, GA Grover was appointed secretary, a position he held till the co-operative was dissolved. Mr. Grower's first task was to convert the Co-operative from a proprietary to a public company. Membership of the Co-operative had grown to 104 shareholders, which was higher than the law allowed for a proprietary company.
Disasters
It was renamed "Doncaster Central Cool Stores". but was also locally known as the Orchardists' Cool Stores.
Disasters
Orchardists were accustomed to disasters. Pests, drought, and hail were a constant threat, but in 1931 they were not prepared for a new disaster. In February of that year a serious fire badly damaged much of the stores, which were subsequently rebuilt at the same location. Then on Good Friday, March 1937 a hot north windy day, fire destroyed the east building which housed the refrigerating plants.
Rebuilt store opened
In 1938 the store was reopened after the 1937 fire. In the new building the chambers were 54 feet by 28 feet, each capable of holding 6,800 cases, giving the store a capacity of 140,000 cases. Two horizontal oil engines with a total horsepower of 246 operated the plant. The direct expansion system was used making the new store the more popular of the two.
Closure
In 1972, after 59 years of service, the Orchardists’ Cool Store closed, symbolising the end of Doncaster as an Orchard District. The buildings were demolished and the site redeveloped for residential and commercial usage.
E. Doncaster Cool Store
This was built in 1913 on three and a half acres of land in Main Doncaster Rd,
on the SW corner of Blackburn Rd.The site is now part of the Devon Shopping
complex, 958-960 Doncaster Rd,which includes Nando's Portuguese Restaurant! An
information board, showing early photos and details of the store, is located
just off Doncaster Rd, adjacent to the car park
It closed down around 1968 and the site was subdivided and redeveloped for residential and commercial ventures.
The West Doncaster Cool Store Company
This was built in 1911 and was the first cooperative fruit cool store in Australia, holding 16,000 cases. The capacity was increased to 36,000 cases in 1916.
![]() |
W. Doncaster store - engine room 1920s (NAA) |
![]() |
W. Doncaster store in demolition phase 1965 (NAA) |
iI closed down on November 30 1965 after negotiations for the sale of the building and land had been concluded and the facility demolished. .The store was located on the NE corner of Main Doncaster Rd (present-day 593 Doncaster Rd) and Beaconsfield St. The site is now occupied by a car sales' company.
The Box Hill Ice and Cold Storage Pty Ltd
This was sited at 40 Doncaster Rd, Box Hill, now 40 Dorking Rd. It was built in 1912. In 1947, most of the store was destroyed by fire and was progressively restored. It closed in 1966 and demolished..
The site was then used for residential accommodation, and is now an Aged Care facility.
Note:There were two Doncaster Rds in the early days! They were Doncaster Rd (Box Hill), which ran from Whitehorse Rd to a dead end, later renamed Dorking Rd and extended in 1965. The original Doncaster Rd was known as the "Main Doncaster Rd" (Doncaster).
Templestowe Orchardists Cool Stores
This was built in 1913 on three and a half acres of land in Main Doncaster Rd, on the SW corner of Blackburn Rd.The site is now part of the Devon Shopping complex, 958-960 Doncaster Rd,which includes Nando's Portuguese Restaurant! An information board, showing early photos and details of the store, is located just off Doncaster Rd, adjacent to the car park
Lawford's Cool Store
Edwin Lawford senior was born in Box Hill in 1858, was educated at Scotch College, and for a short time became an assistant teacher at the Melbourne Deaf and Dumb Institution. He then established an orchard and nursery business in Doncaster in partnership with his brother John Birkby Lawford. After the partnership was dissolved he purchased more land and decided to specialize in pear growing. He built a small cool store and was an originator (with John Petty) of the West Doncaster Cool Storage Company.
The orchard and cool store were ultimately closed to makeeway fr rsidentil development. A legacy is Lawford St, connecting Carnavon St with the scenic Lawford St Reserve, adjoining the expansive golf club.
TIMELINE OF IMPORTANT EVENTS DESCRIBED IN THE TEXT
| 1841 | Edwin Unwin buys 5120 acres of crown land in what would later become part of Doncaster-Box Hill area.It was known It was known as the Unwin Special Survey |
| 1860 | Lutheran School commenced |
| 1860s | Settlement commenced in the Doncaster region |
| 1858 | Lutheran Church built |
| 1860 | Doncaster Post Office commences |
| 1861 | Denominational school commences |
| 1890s | Many cool stores built |
| 1905 | First Government colol mstiore built |
| 1913 | Government cool store ownership transferred to a Cooperative - renamed Doncaster Central Cool Store |
Sunday, April 12, 2020
The Livermore Farm and Orchard - Vermont (Pictorial History of Victoria)
![]() |
| Livermore Farm 1947 (Picture Victoria) |
Prior to the first European colonialists, the landscape was thickly timbered
bushland, occupied by the Wurundjeri, Indigenous
Australians of the Kulin nation, who
spoke variations of the Woiwurrung language
group. They were hunters and
gatherers, camping near the creeks and gullies of the area now known as
Bellbird Dell. The creek flowed from immediately north of the Dell, through it
and on to join the Dandenong Creek.
![]() |
| Livermore Farm 1947 (Picture Victoria) |
1850s
The first settlers, who were woodcutters and charcoal burners, came before
land sales. Selectors followed and they marked out, leased and improved
allotments, which would enable them to gain freehold titles from the Crown.
Temporary wattle and daub huts were erected and later substantial timber
cottages.
Apart from some general farming, orchards dominated the landscape until the
1950s when the demand for new housing areas led to the
subdivision of orchards. Nunawading
Council (now Whitehorse Council) began the acquisition of property in
1966, with the purchase of a large block (7.26 hectares) from
local orchardist Cecil Rhodes to form Bellbird Dell.
In the early years, .land allotments of about 50 to 200 ha were offered to
settlers. The first primary school in the district opened in Mt Pleasant, near
the present Uniting church in Canterbury Road at the border between Forest Hill
and Vermont. In 1872 a permanent school was functioning in
Vermont proper, and the single room structure remained in use 100 years
later.
![]() |
| The Farm - 1947 (Picture Victoria) |
Vermont was also known as L.L. Vale, after the model farm owned by Dr L.L.
Smith, medico and parliamentarian. The name persisted for a while, despite the
school being named Vermont: the post office was L.L. Vale from its opening in
1881 until 1885.
By 1913
Vermont had a general store and post office, a school, an Anglican church, a
mechanics' institute and a public hall. It was described as a prosperous
fruit-growing district. The area's relative remoteness from land-subdivision
activity kept it a mainly rural area with local organisations such as the
football club, scouts and a horticultural society (1937). Its population in
1933 was 711 when described in the Victorian municipal
directory:
![]() |
| Aerial view of farm in 1945 (Whitehorse Digital Maps) |
One of the larger properties in the distriot during the
1940s was the Livermore Orchard. This was 28 acres, (11.3 ha)
occupying the flat and undulating and bounded by the Dandenong Creek and Morack
Rd. It was primarily a supplier of apples. It was managed by Clem Livermore and
his sons, with the main entrance on Morack Rd opposite is now East Rd...
The orchard was known for its innovative use of new irrigation technology,
which included overhead sprinkler networks.The orchard closed down around the
mid-1970s – the Morack Public Golf Course was opened in
1984 on land previously used by the orchard.
![]() |
| Aerial view 1945 - Whitehorse Digital Maps) |
![]() |
| Morack Golf Course 2004 (SLV) |
![]() |
| Morack Golf Course (Google Maps 2020) |
![]() |
| Livermore Close 2020 (Google Maps) |
![]() |
| Livermore Close Reserve 2020 (Whitehorse Digital Maps) |
![]() |
| Livermore Close Reserve 2020 - (Whitehorse Digital Maps) |
![]() | ||||
| Livermore arm and Orchard 1945 (Whiitehorse Digital Maps) | ps) |
![]() |
| Livermoe Close and Verona St 2020 (Google Maps) |
![]() |
Morack Golf Course (Morack Rd Golf Club 2020) Acknowledgements: National Library of Australia Trove State Library of Victoria Picture Victoria Morack Public Golf Course Whitehorse City Council DEWLP |
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
The Blue Moon Jam Factory - Blackburn
![]() |
| Early photo of Doncaster orchard region (SLV) |
When settlers arrived in the Blackburn area in the 1840s they found it to be thickly wooded and inhospitable.but many made a modest living by establishing orchards and small farms.
![]() |
| Doncaster - loading cherries for packing shed (Australasian Dee 22 1906) |
1882
The Blackburn Railway Station opened.
1918
Local
orchardists built a cool-store in Doncaster
1932
Doncaster growers formed the Southern Victorian Pear Packing Pty. Ltd., to organise and standardise the export of pears and apples to the United Kingdom and Europe.
Doncaster growers formed the Southern Victorian Pear Packing Pty. Ltd., to organise and standardise the export of pears and apples to the United Kingdom and Europe.
1946
The Coop.purchased the Blackburn Case Making Pty Ltd business and it became the Blue Moon Fruit Co-operative Limited. This was located at what is now 11 Solwood Lane, Blackburn (site now occupied by Maddocks Sports Manufacturer) with facilities for storage, fruit packing, manufacture of cases, and the sale of spray materials and other orchard supplies. It backed on to the railway line, opposite present-day Morton Park.
The Coop.purchased the Blackburn Case Making Pty Ltd business and it became the Blue Moon Fruit Co-operative Limited. This was located at what is now 11 Solwood Lane, Blackburn (site now occupied by Maddocks Sports Manufacturer) with facilities for storage, fruit packing, manufacture of cases, and the sale of spray materials and other orchard supplies. It backed on to the railway line, opposite present-day Morton Park.
![]() |
| Image from Weekly Times, August 14.1937 |
![]() |
| Former Blue Moon building, March 2020. Original signage still visible left centre. |
![]() |
| Original signage, 2003 photo enlargement (from "'Places in Victoria") |
![]() |
| Former Blue Moon building - now Maddocks Sports (Google 2020) |
![]() |
| Blue Moon factory - aerial photo of 1945 (Whitehorse Digital Maps) |
![]() |
| Solwood Lane (Blackburn Central business area) (Google 2019) Note: This is an article in the series "Victorian Pictorial Heritage", published April, 2020, author Bob Padula OAM. |
Sunday, April 5, 2020
Daniel Robertson Brickworks - Nunawading - Victorian Heritage Series

The Daniel Robertson ceramics company was established in 1853 as a shale roof-tile importer. The Australian company continued to import English shale roof-tiles in the ballasts of ships until 1923, when local manufacturing began from a site at 54-76 Station St Nunawading.
→ Header image: from Property Developer, during demolition 2013.
![]() |
| Site boundary in 2014 |
Clay for the factory was obtained from an on-site quarry.
![]() |
| The Chimney (January 2020) |
![]() |
| Extract from Concept Plan - 2014 (Whitehorse Council) |
No brick was the same, giving whatever building they were
used on a timeless patchwork textured look. In 2012, multi million dollar
Australian owned company, Brickworks Limited finally purchased the last 50% of
the ownership of the company and the expansive site was
sold to AusGroup Property and Development in late 2013.
The factory closed in
early 2014 ending 91 years of operation at the site and joining the now many
crumbling ghostly reminders of Australia’s once mighty brickmaking past.
The chimney has been retained as a protected heritage feature.
The site is zoned "Industrial".
As at April 2020 the site is a waterlogged, weed infested wasteland, protected by a chain fence.
The site is zoned "Industrial".
As at April 2020 the site is a waterlogged, weed infested wasteland, protected by a chain fence.
![]() |
| Google maps view 2019 |
→This is a link to an article in the Herald-Sun of early 2014.
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/east/nunawading-brickworks-site-set-for-major-redevelopment-with-homes/news-tory/18f520facbe5ed06eeedacc697ed1c55
![]() |
| Aerial view 2013, north at bottom |
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)

































